Are Fritos Vegan?

Are Fritos Vegan?

Original FRITOS® are definitely vegan but do they offer any other flavors or types for vegans? Because when it comes to snacking, you don’t want to be limited!

Are FRITOS a good option as a vegan snack?

If you are looking for a nice, simple and savory corn chip, then absolutely! Get yourself a packet of FRITOS® Originals, FRITOS® Lightly Salted or FRITOS® Scoops and get crunching. Perfect for pairing with your favorite vegan dips or simply munching on them straight from the packet.

However if you are looking for a wider flavor profile, something with a little more pizazz, FRITOS® isn’t the brand for you. A lot of their more diversely flavored corn chips include certain non-vegan ingredients, and therefore cannot be enjoyed by those on a plant-based diet. 

What makes FRITOS Originals, Lightly Salted and Scoops vegan?

It’s simple really; these three variants of FRITOS® are made with the exact same three ingredients, namely corn, corn oil and salt. All of which are wonderfully plant-based and so can definitely be a great vegan option to snack on.

FRITOS® Originals are the classic snack that has been satisfying customers, vegan and non for over eighty years. 

FRITOS® Lightly Salted delivers just what the name says, a saltier option. Perfect for those who have the opposite of a sweet tooth.

FRITOS® Scoops are the ideal vessel for dips, so break out the vegan sourcream and onion and get dipping!

These three FRITOS® staples are a great guilt-free option for when you want to indulge yourself in a delicious, savory, crunchy snack. 

Which FRITOS variants are non-vegan?

Which FRITOS variants are non-vegan?

Sadly the FRITOS® variants that are non-vegan are the flavored ones. The ones that have that kick of spice that you would perhaps expect to be vegan, and those that have a smoky-sweeter flavor. There’s no beating around the bush here, I’m afraid; the most interesting FRITOS® flavors are the ones that are not vegan friendly. 

FRITOS® Spicy Jalapeño are regrettably on this list. They contain sour cream, as well as whey (a liquid that remains after milk has been curdled and strained) both of which of course come from animals. This immediately disqualifies them as a potential snack for vegans.

FRITOS® Chili Cheese also contains quite a few ingredients that makes it an impossible option for vegans. Included in its list of ingredients is a frightful amount of dairy products, such as cheddar cheese, romano cheese, butter and buttermilk. Not to mention whey! So it’s a no go on the chili cheese.

FRITOS® FLAMIN' HOT® is perhaps a surprising addition to the list. But this spicy corn chip also contains quite a lot of dairy products, including whey, cheddar and romano cheese, milk and buttermilk. It also contains natural flavoring which is often derived from things like meat, seafood, poultry, eggs, dairy products.

FRITOS® FLAVOR TWISTS® Honey BBQ are also a no go for vegans. It’s in the name: honey. As it is flavored with something that comes from our unfortunately depleting population of buzzing friends, this corn chip is out of the question as well. These corn chips also include natural flavoring which could also be non-vegan.

What about the famous FRITOS pie?

What about the famous FRITOS pie?

Many restaurants have added this rather niche little dish on their menus. It usually includes chili and cheese however, but it is super easy to make a vegan friendly version right in the comfort of your own home. Substitute the meat and cheese with your favorite vegan alternatives and you are ready to begin. Get your bag of classic vegan friendly FRITOS® and empty them into an oven safe tray. Then pour your can of vegan chili and then add any other toppings you choose, from any leftover veggies to your preferred plant-based melty cheese. Stick it in the oven, at 320 degrees, for about 5-10 minutes and enjoy your very own, home-made FRITOS® pie.


Though FRITOS® does have a few vegan options in their pantheon of corn chips, if you are looking for variety then this isn't the brand for you. The vegan friendly options available to you are complete classics and a fantastic savory, crunchy snack that will definitely leave you satisfied. As a result you can customize and pair them with all sorts of toppings and dips without any fear of the corn chip itself taking over the flavor. However, if you are looking to branch out and be a little more daring in terms of flavor profile, the variants that FRITOS® offers are sadly not compatible with a plant-based diet.