What is gluten-free flour?

Flour is a fine powder that’s made from grinding up grains, beans, nuts, seeds, or roots. Humans have been making bread from flour since ancient times, bread being a staple of many cuisines across the world. Traditional flours such as wheat flour contain gluten. Gluten is what makes turns flour into a sticky, stretchy dough when combined with water. But not everyone can, or chooses to, eat gluten.

Gluten-free flour is flour that is made of products that do not contain gluten. Gluten-free flour can be made with a wide variety of ingredients including almonds, buckwheat, sorghum, amaranth, and chickpeas. Each has its own unique flavor and properties. Gluten-free flour can be used in place of flour for so many wonderful kinds of recipes. Read on to find out more about our plant-based flour.

Is gluten-free flour healthy?

Gluten-free flour is a healthy addition to a gluten-free diet. Whether you have celiac disease or just choose not to eat gluten because it makes you feel better, gluten-free flour can be a real lifesaver. Some of us are sensitive to gluten and it is believed to potentially cause bloating, diarrhea, brain fog, headaches, or constipation. Some people are allergic to wheat. If any of these apply to you, then gluten-free flour is the flour for you.

But you don’t have to be on a gluten-free diet to enjoy our awesome gluten-free flours. They all have their own unique flavors and textures and will enhance a whole range of different recipes. Shop flour today and find the one that’s right for you.