Minor Figures – Organic Oat Milk – 1 Liter | Pack Of 6
PLANT-BASED LIFESTYLE NEWSLETTERS JUST FOR YOU Stay informed
Pesto sauce was first made in Italy and the traditional pesto recipe has olive oil, fresh basil leaves, cheese, Parmesan cheese and pine nuts as ingredients. Parmesan cheese is not vegan. This fact indicates that the traditional pesto is not vegan.
To coagulate milk used to make Parmesan cheese, an enzyme called chymosin derived from rennet is used. Rennet used for making parmesan cheese is obtained from the stomach of calves. As animals are killed to make Parmesan cheese, they are never considered vegetarian let alone vegan.
Although traditional pesto sauce is not vegan, there are many vegan pesto recipes available. Vegan pestos use vegan cheese in place of Parmesan cheese. One popular vegan pesto recipe has basil, garlic, soybean oil, romano cheese, spices, olive oil, lactic acid, citric acid, torula yeast and salt as its ingredients.
Select what news you are interested in receiving a newsletter
Cart has been replaced